Home | Emerging Leaders Team

Emerging Leaders Team

The mission of the Emerging Leaders Team is assist Virginia Baptist churches in evangelizing, identifying, equipping, and discovering missions/service opportunities for God-called leaders and in building community among Virginia Baptists by connecting leaders in networks.

Preschool Child  Youth MinistryCollegiate Young Adult  Adults Seniors

What is an “Emerging Leader?”

An emerging leader is an individual of any age who is in the process of discerning the call of God in his or her life, the call to minister and serve in ways that bring glory to God and build up God’s church. Do any of these scenarios describe you?

  • You are a young adult in junior high or high school. You’ve made a commitment to be a follower of Jesus, but you sense that there is something more that God wants to teach you about where following Jesus will take you.
  • You are in college and are wrestling with some pretty big life decisions. What should I major in? What do I want to do with my life after I graduate? In the midst of these questions, you are convinced that God wants to use you to make a difference.
  • You are in the “prime of life” with your formal education is behind you; you have a job; you have a family. But you are still growing. You sense that God is preparing you for something new, opening doors for new ministry and service in your church or your workplace.
  • You are nearing retirement, but even as you prepare to leave this particular career, you know that God still has plans to use the gifts, skills and experiences that you have developed over a lifetime. You are simply trying to figure out what that next step ought to look like.

Who is an “Emerging Leader?”

  • A Person of Any Age – Many people, when they hear the phrase “Emerging Leader,” immediately think of youth or college students. Young adults can be emerging leaders, to be sure. But if we restrict our thinking to one narrow age range, we’re missing the point. The fact is that God works in individual lives at any age, calling out leaders to work in fields that are “white unto harvest.”
  • Discerning a Call – Too often in the church, our thinking about leadership focuses exclusively on professional or ordained ministry. Biblically speaking, however, the gifts of God’s Spirit are much broader than that. Yes, God “gifts” or “calls” people to serve as pastors or church staff members. But God also “gifts” and “calls” people to a broad range of other ministries and kinds of service—both inside and outside the church—to advance the purposes of God’s kingdom.
  • Among God’s People – “Emerging Leaders” are not “Lone Rangers.” After all, “leaders” imply “followers.” More to the point, however, the point of God’s “calling out” of leaders is to enhance the effectiveness of all God’s people. As the apostle Paul says, God’s gifts are given “to build up the church” (Ephesians 4: 12). In addition, the gathered community of faith usually plays a vital role in helping individuals discern and affirm a call of God.

If any of these scenarios sound familiar, then you may well be an “Emerging Leader,” we would like to come alongside you—providing encouragement, assistance in discerning God’s voice, and opportunities to ‘try on’ new ministry—as you grapple with the meaning of that call for you.

Emerging Leaders Team

Daphne Almarode : [staff-title] Daphne Almarode
Baptist Collegiate Minister, JMU, Bridgewater College & Mary Baldwin College
540.434.6822
daphne.almarode@vbmb.org
Chelsea Anderson : [staff-title] Chelsea Anderson
Associate Baptist Collegiate Minister, Christopher Newport; Associate, Old Dominion University

cbanderson817@gmail.com
Scott Anderson : [staff-title] Scott Anderson
Interim Baptist Collegiate Minister, Old Dominion
757.489.7962
scott.anderson@vbmb.org
Reed Bradley : [staff-title] Reed Bradley
Baptist Collegiate Minister, George Mason University
703.978.8160
reedb@parkwood.org
Katrina Brooks : [staff-title] Katrina Brooks
Baptist Collegiate Minister, Lynchburg College
434.544.8681
brooks.ks@lynchburg.edu
Megan Buchanan : [staff-title] Megan Buchanan
Interim Baptist Collegiate Minister, University of Virginia at Wise
276.328.6208
mmb8ae@uvawise.edu
Jeffrey Buffkin : [staff-title] Jeffrey Buffkin
Baptist Collegiate Minister, William & Mary
757.229.3471
jeffrey.buffkin@vbmb.org
Brian Clabough : [staff-title] Brian Clabough
Associate Collegiate Minister, James Madison University
540.434.6822
clabough@gmail.com
Darrell Cook : [staff-title] Darrell Cook
Baptist Collegiate Minister, Virginia Tech
540.552.5473
darrell.cook@vbmb.org
Janice Kiehm : [staff-title] Janice Kiehm
Baptist Collegiate Minister, Longwood University
434.392.5733
janice.kiehm@vbmb.org
Carlie Linde : [staff-title] Carlie Linde
Associate Collegiate Minister, Virginia Tech
540.552.5473
carlie@bcmvt.org
Dietrich Linde : [staff-title] Dietrich Linde
Associate Collegiate Minister, Virginia Tech
540.552.5473
dietrich@bcmvt.org
Susan McBride : [staff-title] Susan McBride
Team Leader, Emerging Leaders
800.255.2428 or 804.915.5000, ext. 2242
susan.mcbride@vbmb.org
Jennifer Mullins : [staff-title] Jennifer Mullins
Baptist Collegiate Minister, Radford University
540-838-2080
jennifer.mullins@vbmb.org
Rusty Mullins : [staff-title] Rusty Mullins
Associate Collegiate Minister, Radford University
540.838.2080
rusjen@yahoo.com
Welford Orrock : [staff-title] Welford Orrock
Coordinator of Kairos Initiative
800.255.2428 or 804.915.5000, ext. 2246
welford.orrock@vbmb.org
Karen Rackett : [staff-title] Karen Rackett
Administrative Assistant to Emerging Leaders Team
800.255.2428 or 804.915.5000, ext. 2243
karen.rackett@vbmb.org
Kendall Ratliffe : [staff-title] Kendall Ratliffe
Christian Student Fellowship, Averett University

kratliffe@averett.edu
Charity Roberson : [staff-title] Charity Roberson
Equipping Coach
800.255.2428 or 804.915.5000, ext. 2244
charity.roberson@vbmb.org
Suzie Schmitt : [staff-title] Suzie Schmitt
Associate Collegiate Minister, Virginia Tech
540.552.5473
msusane@ostatemail.okstate.edu
Carey Sims : [staff-title] Carey Sims
Baptist Collegiate Minister, University of Mary Washington
540.371.3970
carey.sims@vbmb.org
Gannon Sims : [staff-title] Gannon Sims
Director of Communications and Networking, Fresh Expressions US; Associate Collegiate Minister, University of Mary Washingon
540.371.3970
gannon.sims@freshexpressionsus.org
David Taylor : [staff-title] David Taylor
Bluefield College
276.326.4257
dtaylor@bluefield.edu
Blake Tommey : [staff-title] Blake Tommey
Baptist Collegiate Minister, University of Virginia

blake.tommey@vbmb.org
Pam Traylor : [staff-title] Pam Traylor
Volunteer Minister, Mary Baldwin College
540.434.6822
love2mbc@gmail.com
Nic Uebel : [staff-title] Nic Uebel
Baptist Collegiate Minister, Virginia Commonwealth Univeristy
804.355.2640
nic.uebel@vbmb.org
Caitie Walsh : [staff-title] Caitie Walsh
Baptist Collegiate Minister, University of Richmond
804.289.8702
caitiewalsh@gmail.com
Mattie Wezah : [staff-title] Mattie Wezah
Associate Collegiate Minister, College of William & Mary
757-229-3471
mattie.m.patterson@gmail.com
Zeko Wezah : [staff-title] Zeko Wezah
Associate Collegiate Minister, College of William & Mary
757.229.3471
zwezah@wm.edu
Mike Wilkins : [staff-title] Mike Wilkins
Volunteer Minister, Volunteer, Lexington Area—Virginia Military Institute and Washington & Lee University
540.463.4181
pastormike.mmbc@gmail.com